Review of The Queen of Hearts by Kimberly Martin


Hello Readers,

Thank you to Berkley Publishing for generously supplying me with a review copy of The Queen of Hearts by Kimberly Martin. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

I know I say this all the time, but LOOK AT THIS COVER! It is absolutely beautiful, and I know it's one of those books that so many people said they bought based on the cover alone. Let's be honest if the publisher hadn't graciously sent me this book I would have bought it for the cover alone also. It's just that pretty in real life. Also, I have never known anyone named Kimmery so I think that's pretty great too. 

This book is absolutely Greys Anatomy meets Big Little Lies. 

"A debut novel set against a background of hospital rounds and life-or-death decisions that pulses with humor and empathy and explores the heart's capacity for forgiveness..."

I basically fell in love with the main character Zadie and wanted her to be a real person so she could be my best friend too. Her inner monologue on motherhood freaked me out on several occasions because there were many thoughts she had that I have had many times and thought it was just me thinking that. I loved that Zadie was a successful doctor who was happily married to a husband she loved and children she was joyful about raising. I don't find women who enjoy their marriages and their children in books very often and it was so refreshing to me. Emma was also a great character but she felt more intense then Zadie. Although her OCD about organizing her kitchen drawers also hit a little to close to home for me. These women were so relatable and strong in such good ways, and I loved reading about them in this book.

The book alternated between present day and flashbacks to the past as a particular incident is slowly revealed to you. It is definitely worth comparing this book to Liane Moriarty's structure of writing. The writing in The Queen of Hearts did feel similar to me at times, but honestly, I loved how relatable and real Martin's writing was in this book.  

As someone who can't even watch medical shows, this book was a perfect fit for me because if the medical descriptions were a bit too much for me I could just skip those sections without having the visuals tv in my mind. Just another reason why I love reading over a tv show or a movie, because once you see something you cant unsee it. As the story moved along I was definitely interested to see what would happen to Zadie and Emma's friendship as another doctor enters their world and could threaten to destroy their friendship. 

I would recommend this book for readers of Liane Morriaty or Maria Semple

Overall Rating - 3/5 Stars

Links:
Amazon

Happy Reading,
Rachael

Comments

Popular Posts