Review of The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

Hello Readers,

Thank you to Berkley Publishing for generously supplying me with a review copy of The French Girl by Lexie Elliott. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.


"We all have our secrets...

They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending an idyllic week together in a French farmhouse. It was supposed to be the perfect summer getaway...until they met Severine, the girl next door. " 

This mystery set in the French countryside kept me absorbed in the story. I am finally finding my jam when it comes to mystery/thrillers and it's these slow-burn stories that keep me wondering the whole time and specifically ones that are not too gruesome in descriptions or how detailed they describe creepy stuff.  

A decade ago, Kate Channing and her friends spent a week in the French Countryside, and it was a less than idyllic week as it ended with the death of the girl next door. A decade later and the case is being reopened and everyone in the group is a suspect since they were the last ones to see Severine alive. Each time Kate returns to that week in her mind it brings to mind memories of some harsh moments in her life that she would much rather leave in the past. No matter how much Kate wants to block out the events of that week the sudden appearance of Severine's dead body will force her and her group of friends to deal with the past and find out what really happened that week. But most importantly they need to figure out who can be trusted and who is keeping a secret. 

I really appreciated that this book was told mostly in the present with a few flashbacks to the past. The structure worked really well for me and it was easy to keep up with the story instead of getting lost and trying to remember if I was reading something that was present day or in the past. Kate is a very likable character if you can get past a few of her less then brilliant moments during the story. The main not brilliant moment that really irked me was when Kate, who is a former lawyer, doesn't realize that she herself will need a lawyer as the investigator begins to question the friends about the murder of Severine. Even I know that you need a lawyer when you are being approached about a situation where there was a murder. 

Overall I enjoyed this mystery and would recommend this book for fans of The Woman in Cabin 10 or Girl Uknown. The tone and setting all felt very similar to me to those read-alike books.

Overall Rating - 3/5 Stars



Happy Reading,



Popular Posts